Awardee Lectures

ICMI recognises outstanding contributions to different aspects of the field of mathematics education through several prestigious awards:

  • The Felix Klein Award, named after the first president of ICMI (1908-1920), this awards honours lifetime achievement in mathematics education research.
  • The Hans Freudenthal Award, named after the eighth president of ICMI (1967-1970), this award recognises a major cumulative program of mathematics education research.
  • The Emma Castelnuevo Award, named after the Italian mathematics educator born in 1913, to celebrate her 100th birthday, and honour her pioneering work, this award recognises outstanding achievements in the practice of mathematics education.

These awards are presented at the Opening Ceremony, and the awardees will be invited to present a lecture as part of ICME-15.

Key Dates

Milestones Dates
Expressions of Interest to participateNow Open
First AnnouncementNow Available
Proposals for National Presentations & Discussion GroupsNow Open
Proposals for National Presentations close31-Dec-22
TSG Papers and Posters processes opens01-Mar-23
Second Announcement01-May-23
Proposals for Workshops open01-May-23
Congress Registrations open01-Jun-23
Solidarity Fund Applications open01-Jun-23
Proposals for Discussion Groups and Workshops close01-Nov-23
Applications for support from Solidarity Fund close30-Nov-23
Full Congress Program released on website and smartphone app01-June-24